It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Mental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
(male)

Spartan917 HB User
Question verbal/mental abuse? Farm work and family

Hey everybody, I first off want to say that I do not plan to use this post as means of venting (we all know, that's what facebook is for! :P ), as I am specifically here to gain further information and advice regarding this specific situation. As an overthinker, I feel as though jotting down some ideas on paper is always helpful, although this time I feel I should have somebody else give their 2 scoops.

Some upfront information about myself is I am a 21 year old who currently attends a big 10 university. I am studying agriculture business (yet still undecided on a specific major/path of life). I am attending this university because my brother did so in the past and I felt as if it would be a solid "life choice", although honestly I feel as if the education system seems to reel in far more money than any student may benefit from such an education (a completely different topic!)

Although I attend college in the spring/fall, I usually spend all my summers, and summers prior to this one, working on our family farm. This is a pretty big farm and we do anywhere from 1200-1500 acres. Unfortunately, with running farms this big, there is massive amounts of work which seems to run our families life, and I believe in a negative way. I have worked over 50 hours this week alone, and my father still does not believe that this is satisfactory.