It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Military Health Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2004, 07:45 AM   #1

southernmuse HB User
Question Should I be worried?

Hi! I'm very new to starting to research this, so please forgive me if I ask too basic questions! My fiance is getting ready to return from his second deployment to the Gulf (he was also there in the first Gulf War). He hasn't shown any symtoms of Gulf War Syndrome (that I know of) but we are starting to think about starting a family. I've read articles linking birth defects to the syndrome- how worried about this should I be? Are there any tests or preventions that might be helpful? He seems to be healthy, but I don't want to take any chances that something could happen when we decide to have children. Any information (even if it's just to tell me I shouldn't be concerned!) would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

Old 04-01-2004, 02:35 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

Dear Maggie HB User
He should have some idea

That's a good question you have.

First off, what does he do in the military?

As to symptoms, there are some that seem to show up over time, from what I have learned in corresponding with and speaking with some of the Gulf War vets.

The first thing I would expect him to notice is an overwhelming fatigue. You can ask him about this. ... and a change in personality - 'fly-off the handle all the time over nothing!' (You'll notice this yourself)