It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Military Health Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2003, 11:06 AM   #1

VAL USAF HB User
Unhappy I'm sorry I'm not alone

I just found this site today. I must say, I was brought to tears by many of the things I had read.
I am a 40 y.o. mother of two one pre gulf war and one post gulf war. The older of the two is fine, the younger has problems that he is undergoing many tests for, he is very bright, but at the same time has a severe retention problem as well as motor skill and visual/perceptual problems. Bless his little heart, he tries so hard and it is a real emotional problem for him. See I home schooled him untill last year, then it became too big of a task for me.
I am a gulf war vet,I was there before during and after
everything. I was the only female in my unit for months
and it was a blessing that I had known all the people I was with for years. I worked on reconn planes, so we flew through it all, every bit of anything that there was there. Then all of us maintenence people were all over that plane when it returned, not knowing how debilatated and ill we would all become.
I tried to hide all my symptoms for many years, I had kids to raise, and my husband was a long haul truck driver.
I cant hide it any more, I can barely tie my shoes, or drag my legs into my car to take my kids back and forth to school.
I shake uncontrollably at times, and can barely pick up a pencil any time. The VA doctors are just "shot-gunning' my symptoms, and there are days when I wonder if I'll see tommorow.Ive had a piercing head ache since 6/02 thatis in the center of my head..on the right side, I have occular migrains that blind me, literally and I wonder what will come tommorow.
I have spodylosis in every joint in my body including my sternum, and to watch me walk, you would think I was drunk and 100 years old.