It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Mononucleosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2008, 06:11 PM   #1
(female)

chirstine93 HB User
A strange case of mono

Hi everyone! I was hoping that someone could give me feedback on my mono case. Heres whats been going on:

Im a freshman at college this year and arrived on campus feeling fine 3.5 weeks ago. Two weeks ago I had a fever for a night and tried to sleep it off. It basically worked because in the morning I was feeling better and thought it was over and done with. About 2 days later I started to get a sore throat. That lasted for 2 days and I lost my voice and such. BUt then I started to get better and I actually felt fine for about a day before a dry cough set in. The cough was bad for about two days but then started to improve. I happened to have to go in for a sports physical just as my cough was starting to improve. I was hoping that maybe they could help speed up the process so since I was already there I told them about what had happened (although I never in a million years would I have gone in for just the cough). I was shocked when the doctor said she wanted to have me tested for mono before I could practice. I wasnt feeling tired or anything, just like I had an average cold. Anyhow, since then I have completely recovered. I have been feeling healthy for about a week now and was expecting to be cleared for practice today. Instead I got a phone call saying that I tested POSITIVE for mono! I was shocked. I feel perfectly fine and havent been the least bit tired or fatigued. Could I already be in the recovery stage? I cant imagine that I could have got this before school but I know exactly how I could have got it here (sharing drinks, not sleeping, kissing, ect... on a campus with a mono outbreak). So if thats the case the I was first exposed about 3 weeks ago. Felt it two weeks ago. Tested positive for