It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Mononucleosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2011, 04:36 AM   #1
(male)

The Natural92 HB User
Athletics and Mono

Three or four weeks ago I was diagnosed with a mild to medium cause of Mononucleosis. To give you an idea of how mild, my symptoms included:

-Extremely sore throat
-Swollen Lymph Nodes (Neck pain)
-Back Pain
-Slight fever (around 99 degrees)
-Sleeping up to 12 to 15 hours a day.
-Loss of Appetite

However, with all this I lacked a swollen spleen, which I told is uncommon, but not unheard of, as mono affects everyone differently.

A little history about me... I am an amateur bodybuilder and Mixed Martial Artist of three years. I don't compete, but I train two times a week in MMA and workout five times a week, giving myself two rest days a week. However after being diagnosed, and a little before it, I stopped working out. I think it's going to be two months tomorrow that I haven't worked out.

The reason I ask is because my doctor "cleared" me to workout again, and so I attempted to do a workout today, and failed miserably. Not an extreme workout like I'm used to, but not a mild one either. I didn't really trust him, because I've heard rumors of mono still affecting people months after they're diagnosed. However I did feel fine, I've been on antibiotics for about three weeks now, all of my symptoms returned to normal and I felt 100% better for the most part. I got about halfway through my workout and I felt horrible. Suddenly I was / had...

-Weak in the legs
-Uneasy stomach feeling
-Extreme dizziness
-Difficulty breathing / swallowing
-No energy remaining, desire to lay down and pass out (or at the time I was thinking... I needed a "nap." @_@)