It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2004, 02:41 PM   #1
(female)

momisrose HB User
Question Please Help with Mother

Hi, I am new to this Health Board and am asking for advise as to how to proceed with helping my Mother. She was diagnosed with M.S. about 25 years ago when she was fairly young ( about 25 ) she moved to Florida 3 years ago ( which I understand the cliamate there may not be good for her) but has recently become very disorientated, forgetful and confused about things, she also has been ( what I consider) "hording" things of no importance, such as reciepts for things, brochures, newspaper articles, etc... On a few occasions she has gone somewhere only to forget why or where she was going or forgotten where she is. This worries my husband and I - as I am sure you can understand - especially since she is in another state.
Are these type of symptoms typical of M.S. ? I do not think she is always truthful with her M.D. about these memory lapses or confussion. She also has been very "snippy" ( for lack of a better word ) over nothing - this is not her usual manner. I am afraid something eles may be effecting her and she is blaming it on M.S.
Any help would really be appreciated.
Thank-You

Old 12-29-2004, 02:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

sunshine149 HB User
Re: Please Help with Mother

MS can effect short term memory. A lot of what you're describing could be caused from an emotional response to memory loss: iritability & hording. Maybe you can call her MD? Or suggest a therapist? Is there a close friend that could take her shopping? I have a good MSer friend who gets very disorientated while shopping. I don't know if I've been helpful....Best wishes!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-29-2004, 06:01 PM   #3

Dessell HB User

Hi momisrose,