It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #1
(female)

BlessedMamaw HB User
Newbie Here

Hi, this is my first post and I am a newbie to the board. I recently had an EMG which is negative. On Thursday I had an MRI which showed "Differential includes demyelinating processes such as multiple sclerosis, Lyme disease, and small vessel ischemic disease." I have had problems with muscle spams, soreness, shooting pains, cramps, restless legs in my legs for years. I have also had episodes of muscle twitches all over, pins and needles in my feet and in my hands, can't tolerate increases in temperature,vertigo, and bouts with blurred vision, etc.
My doctor is referring me to a neurologist and is wanting to get me in some time this coming week.
Needless to say I am a little nervous about this. Can any of you give me some idea of what to expect when I see the neurologist? It would really help me to feel at ease if I had some idea of what to expect as all of this is brand new to me. Thanks ever so much!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-17-2005, 09:26 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

sunshine149 HB User
Re: Newbie Here

the doc will ask you a series of questions about your symptoms (beginning of symptoms, duration etc) then he or she will give you a series of diagnostic tests such as having you walk, checking your balance and strength, your reflexes etc then may order additonal tests from blood work, another MRI and a spinal tap.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-17-2005, 11:34 AM   #3
Veteran

baddoey HB User