It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2007, 01:55 PM   #1
(female)

murph154 HB User
Sort of good news....

I posted a couple of weeks ago and have been lurking since then. Didn't have much to add, as i'm new to all of this!

Anyway, just wanted to share that I met with a neurologist today and had a good visit. She reviewed my symptoms and the reports for my 2 (c-spine & brain) MRI's. she said that the good news is that i've only had one "episode' (lost feeling on most of the left side of my body for a few weeks, after severe muscle spasms started in my neck) and only 1 real lesion is showing on my brain. Based on that she won't DX me with MS. She's going to do the evoked potential tests (all 3) and we'll go from there. BUT - she said that despite how they come up, the chances of me having another episode in the next 6-12 months is pretty low. I'm still having some residual symptoms (tingling fingers, numb left ear, some fuzzy vision, a little off-balance), but nothing major or unbearable. She said if at least 2 of the 3 EvP tests come up abnormal we'd talk about a DX and/or medications, but otherwise we'll wait 6 months and do another MRI.

so....for now, good news. or at least no news is good news. i'm feeling much more at ease with everything now. After hanging around this board, i've definitely realized that even if it IS MS, it's not the end of the world. It's livable, treatable, and doesn't have to change my life....at least not in the near future.

thanks for listening!!!! feels good to get that out to some folks

erin

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-23-2007, 02:06 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

duttin HB Userduttin HB User
Re: Sort of good news....

Erin,

You have a very positive attitude and thats inspirational.

You're neuro is heading in the right direction with the additional testing.