It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2007, 03:54 AM   #1
(female)

janito HB User
Does a high protien level indicate MS??

Does a high protien level indicate MS?? Im getting a little scared now I should not look on the internet for answers to my medical problems....

Last edited by moderator2; 12-11-2007 at 01:12 PM. Reason: please do not post to specific members by name - topics are open to all members

Old 12-11-2007, 01:08 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
Re: msnik

HI Janito. Thanks for the vote of confidence! I am not a medical professional, so I actually had to look up the answer to this for you...but what I found indicates alot more than high protein levels for indicating MS. In fact, high protein levels which are accompanied by muddy colored central spinal fluid can indicate any number of autoimmune diseases, brain infections, syphillus or inflammation of the spinal cord; HOWEVER these need to be evaluated in conjunction with white blood or red blood cells found in the spinal fluid as well as certain antibodies..
In plain english, theres no way that high protein levels alone can tell you anything. It does usually take a week to 2 weeks to get all the results back. What they are looking for is infection; specfically brain infections such as meningitis, along with white blood count and red blood count. You dont want any red blood cells present, you DO want low white count and you do not want blood in the spinal fluid at all....