It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2008, 09:25 AM   #1
(male)

Araneum HB User
Ideas for more independence

Hi

My sister is disabled with MS and I'm trying to find things that she can still do and which she can enjoy.

She's currently restricted to a wheelchair, reasonable mobility in her right arm and she can speak but not particularly clearly.

If anyone has come across any games or activities which helped them and that she might be able to do I would really appreciate any ideas.

Currently I was thinking maybe something like the PS itoy, but open to any ideas.

Many thanks

David

Old 05-24-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

april1848 HB User
Re: Ideas for more independence

How about the Wii? I have no experience with it but I know it's used as physical therapy for those who are disabled.
Stopped 4/10 due to no insurance.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-24-2008, 12:40 PM   #3
Facilitator
(male)

MSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB User

We have a Wii. Though I can hardly keep up with either of my sons, it is fun. I also can crochet. Crocheting is good exercise for finger dexterity and coordination. My rehab nurse had me building with Legos back in 2002. I still do Legos and puzzles with my sons.

With a good power chair, fishing and hunting are still within my ability. In Kansas disabled hunters can shoot from their vehicles.

When my right arm was incapacitated, I learned how to use my left hand.

Basically, your sister can do whatever she wants with little or no help. The only "real" obstacle is in her mind. I say give her free rein and watch out!

Old 05-24-2008, 01:01 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

Nenu HB User