It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2009, 10:41 PM   #1
(female)

Johooper HB User
Help

I am new to board. Hello all.

Had a MRI today just a rountine followup and they gave me the slide straight away. I < edited > whipped off to my dept and had a look at them on the light box as you do anyway I saw this odd mass type thing that wasnt on my previous one 6 months ago. < edited > What do you think, need to see someone asap or leave it til I see my neuro in a couple of months.

I have RRMS dx in nov 07.

< edited >

Jo

Last edited by hb-mod; 11-18-2009 at 12:17 AM. Reason: Please don't post disallowed websites as per Posting Policy. Thanks.

Old 11-18-2009, 04:57 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
Re: Help

First of all, I think its a terrible idea to look at your films, unless you are a radiologist or Neurologist...
Secondly, your Neuro will be getting a report. If there is anything really wrong, they will call you and tell you to come in. Thirdly, why so long a wait? Usually my Neuro schedules a follow up for me within a few days of having the MRI done, it only takes 10-20 hours to get the report from the radiologist..is there a reason your follow up is months away? Im not sure where you live, maybe that has something to do with it.?

Mostly, stop stressing. You arent a doctor (are you?) and therefore, what you are seeing is probably normal.....under most circumstances, if there is a large mass or anything seriously unusual, the tech performing the test would have called the doctor in to see it before you even got off the table. Youre probably seeing a shadow, or something which is supposed to be there.