It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2002, 12:35 AM   #1
(female)

wenron HB User
Post Smoking in bed device for disabled....

I know someone with MS who is looking for a safer smoking device that will hold the cigarette while in bed. If you know how to get this, please let me know.

Thank you.

Old 07-04-2002, 04:56 PM   #2
Inactive

F-Man HB User
I hope you're joking

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-06-2002, 11:43 AM   #3
(female)

wenron HB User
No, I am not joking. This is someone who has 3 caregivers and insists on smoking in bed. The risk of home burning down is great. But shaky hands while smoking in bed makes the risk even higher.

Old 07-06-2002, 05:31 PM   #4
(female)

RedeemedHeart HB User
Cool

I worked in a hospital in the 1980's when you could still smoke in your hospital room. I have seen patients with emphysema take their last breath with a cigarette in their hand. It was actually not that uncommon.
However, I doubt that there is any kind of device made by a medical company for smoking purposes since the most helpful thing both for this persons (and all others) health and safety would be to quit smoking.
You might be able to find something someone else in a similar situation has come up with on line.
Quitting smoking is very difficult but the rewards are enormous. Maybe with some encouragement this person will re-think this habit.
Blessings,
Kathy

Old 07-07-2002, 09:08 AM   #5
Inactive

F-Man HB User