It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2010, 05:49 PM   #1
(female)

Manda87 HB User
Coping with an MS diagnosis

Hi. I am a medical student and we're currently learning about MS. We're learning the disease process and the effects on the body, but I'm also interested in learning what this is like from the patient's point of view. We're taught the science behind it, but I hope to also learn the human aspect of it. I have an aunt and an uncle who have both been diagnosed with MS, so I have spoken to them about their point of view, but I was wondering if anyone would be willing to talk about how they dealt with the initial diagnosis and how they continue to cope with it today. If you have/had depression associated with it, what was the best way you found to deal with it?

With this information I hope to be able to better understand what my future patients may be going through.

I know that this is a very serious and personal subject, and if you do not feel inclined to share, I will understand completely. Thank you for your time.

God bless,

Manda87

Old 01-21-2010, 08:54 PM   #2
Facilitator
(male)

MSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB User
Re: Coping with an MS diagnosis

I think some of it has to do with the generation or year of diagnosis. I was diagnosed in 1982 and had had symptoms since 1977. At that time there was little to offer. I was fortunate to have a forward thinking neurologist who had me focus on the positive and to avoid stress.