It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2011, 08:55 AM   #1
(female)

Gatorgirl11 HB User
Exclamation My Mom has MS.. And I need advice.

Hello!

I have been debating for quite some time whether I should post a thread on a site about this, but I decided to go for it. As I stated, my Mother has MS. She was diagnosed when she was pregnant with my older sister (she was 24 at the time) after having a seizure. My sister and I grew up completely normal lives. In fact, we did not even have a clue that my Mom even had MS. She never had a single symptom after her seizure. Several years down the road, things got much, much worse. I was a sophomore in high school when my sister, father, and I began to notice strange things happening with my Mom. She used to be so bubbly and always had a smile on her face-but it seemed like everything had changed overnight. She suddenly wasn't speaking well, and couldn't balance when she walked. Her vision started to go and she couldn't understand simple concepts anymore. My sister and I had no idea what to do. My Dad was more than upset, because he had never seen her act like this before. For the first time on my life, I was embarrassed to be seen with my mom. And I feel awful admitting that now, but it was true.