It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2011, 01:04 AM   #1
(female)

MSSUCKS HB User
Unhappy Multiple Sclerosis vs. Fibromyalgia

Pretty sure I'm going to make someone mad, and I really don't mean to, I promise. I'm new to the message boards, and I certainly don't want to start a fight. I'm just wondering what everyone's opinion is about Fibromyalgia. Up until a few months ago, I thought fibro was closely related to MS. Recently, though, I read more about it and found out that there is no real way to diagnose or even know for sure that fibro even exists. I guess it bothers me that there is so much "sympathy" for those who say they have fibro, when people who say they have MS get treated like leppers sometimes. Fibro is even an automatic disability acceptance, when MS'ers have to fight all of the time to get approved. I know my MRI shows lesions galore, some of them are causing seizures. I had greater than 5 bands in my spinal tap, and my brain stem has been totally inflamed from MS at least twice this year. I hate that others compare me to someone who has a disease that may or may not even exist.

Old 08-26-2011, 02:06 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Snoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB UserSnoopy61 HB User
Re: Multiple Sclerosis vs. Fibromyalgia

Fibro is not closely related to MS, although, you can have both MS and Fibro. When diagnosing Fibro the doctor is looking for 12 trigger points (of pain). In MS we can deal with pain but MS does not have trigger points. I am not that familiar with fibro so I cannot comment about the ease of getting or not getting approval for SSD. The problem getting SSD with MS, especially early on in the disease process, is the patient can improve.