It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2011, 07:54 PM   #1
(female)

The happy one HB User
Pain with injecting Rebif shots??

I am having burning pain when I inject my Rebif shots in my body. My doctor wants me to try some numbing cream first to see if that takes away the pain and if that doesn't she said we may have to consider switching treatments. Does anyone else have this kind of pain? Sticking the needle in is not the problem, but it's when I inject the solution that it burns like I'm getting stung by a bee. I don't store my shots in the fridge, so it shouldn't be that the solution is too cold. The nurse suggested that I use the auto-injector again. I've been doing that for a few months and it still burns every time. Any ideas or thoughts are appreciated!

Old 10-03-2011, 07:01 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
Re: Pain with injecting Rebif shots??

Hello The Happy One. Rebif burns. There is no two ways about it. I just did 6 years of Rebif injections and only a few of them did NOT burn....the Interferon, when it is injected, burns. They had a new "no burn" formula which was supposed to be released at least 3 times over the past two years and it never got approved. Just so you know, Avonex and BetaSeron have the same burn involved.