It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Muscular Dystrophy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2007, 03:29 PM   #1
(male)

shren138 HB User
Question becker muscular dystrophy

Hi all,

I am new to this message board. I have BMD and have had a genetic test done which confirmed a deletion mutation of the dystrophin gene. I read the MYO-029 trial info. Hopefully the results come out soon and would help the many sufferers of this dreadful disease. I just wondering, I have read the posts and I see other forms of MD being discussed but not BMD as much..
Does anybody know any new clinical trials going on studying BMD or any new positive therapies being discusssed?. Please post I would love to know more.

Old 06-15-2007, 06:50 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

michigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB User
Re: becker muscular dystrophy

Hi shren138,

Sorry you've received no replies. I don't have Becker's. I'm a 46 year old male with limb-girdle MD. What caught my attention was that you mentioned the MYO-029 trial. I tried to enroll in that trial in April 2005. I corresponded with Kathryn Wagner at Johns Hopkins, one of the lead researchers. I did not qualify however because I don't have an ABSOLUTE definitive diagnosis. I definitely have Limb-Girdle MD, but we can't figure out which one. I've tested negative for 8 types so far.

The MYO-029 trial seems very promising. I know that phase 1 wrapped up many months ago and the results will be published soon. Let's keep our fingers crossed. Doctor Wagner said I MAY qualify for phase 2 or 3.

The MDA website has a research tab that lists ALL past and present trials and the results. Check it out.

Anyway, good luck to you. Keep posting.....even if it's just thoughts or feelings or a need to vent. This board is a great place to do just that. People here understand. Take care,