It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Muscular Dystrophy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2010, 12:49 AM   #1
(female)

mandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB User
Advice

Hi all

I'm doing something I've never done before asking medical advice on the site

I'm experiencing emense pain in my shoulders in arms everyday.

I don't want to go do dr because they will just tell me it's MD and prescribe pain killers etc etc etc

My left leg sometimes goes numb that makes it hard for me to get up at all and I'm starting to walk much slower and with so much more effort.

Is this normal part of MD and will this go away?

Not panicking here just want to know if this the normal part of MD I'm going to go through

Mandy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-16-2010, 03:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

michigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB User
Re: Advice

Mandy,

I do sometimes get indirect pain from my limb-girdle MD. I believe that the pain is often a result of the lack of muscle supporting, surrounding and cushioning my joints, organs, nerves, etc. Most often I get sciatic nerve pain in the back of my leg. This happens when sitting, most often in a car. But I also experience my leg or legs "falling asleep". Again, I contribute this to the lack of cushion and support because my muscles are thin and shrinking. My neck and shoulders often ache if I'm using my arms over my head, almost like a pinched nerve.

I believe that my MD doesn't hurt but there is often a lot of aches and discomfort. I don't know if this answers your question at all but it's been my experience. Hope you feel better soon.

Mark

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-17-2010, 03:28 AM   #3
(female)

mandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB Usermandy37 HB User

Quote: