It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Muscular Dystrophy Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2011, 04:50 PM   #1
(female)

tmb0163 HB User
Centro-nuclear myopathy

I am 42 years old and just diagnosed about 8 months ago. I am extremely tired and experience weakness in the thighs and biceps. My husband thinks I am just lazy. I need to do more, I am a full time college student in my last year of a five year degree for teaching. Carrying a back pack is alot work...He thinks I should do more...by the way my gpa is 3.56 . I also have a 16 year old daughter and I am the Tutor co-ordinator for children 1 st grade thru 6th grade I am in charge of 7 other tutors. I co-ordinate Mondays from 5-8:30pm during the school year. I also do all the grocery shopping and meal preparation at home. I just want to scream I really am doing all that I can...

I am just so tired...of trying to defend an illness I did not ask for or do anything to cause...Any advice or similiar situation.

Old 06-24-2011, 01:06 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

michigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB Usermichigani HB User
Re: Centro-nuclear myopathy

Hi tmb,

I have an extensive database of 70+ types of muscular dystrophies. I didn't remember yours, but upon checking, I do have a little info:

Centronuclear Myopathy
AKA: Myotubular Myopothy
Short name: CNM
Inheritance: Dominant
Mutant Gene: Dynamin 2 (DNM2)
Average Age at onset: Adoles-Adult
Muscles affected: Distal Legs & Respitory
Heart affected: ?
Lungs affected: Sometimes
Progression: Slow