It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Nail Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2004, 06:39 PM   #1

super fluke HB User
Questions from a long-term nailbiter:

Aright, I've been biting my nails for 6 years.. How do I quit? *lol*

All my fingernails are now ridged, and one even looks "cratered" slightly if you can picture it.. but they're all ridged and uneven..

I chew the nails, rip off some skin alongside the nails, and even alotta the cuticles. I bite them to the point that pressure against the bottom of my finger pushing towards the nail will cause pain.

So anyways, my two questions:
1). How can I quit?
2). How long does it take fingernails to fully grow back in healthy?

Sheesh..

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-06-2004, 06:00 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Marti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB User
Re: Questions from a long-term nailbiter:

Quote:
Originally Posted by super fluke
Aright, I've been biting my nails for 6 years.. How do I quit? *lol*

All my fingernails are now ridged, and one even looks "cratered" slightly if you can picture it.. but they're all ridged and uneven..

I chew the nails, rip off some skin alongside the nails, and even alotta the cuticles. I bite them to the point that pressure against the bottom of my finger pushing towards the nail will cause pain.

So anyways, my two questions:
1). How can I quit?
2). How long does it take fingernails to fully grow back in healthy?

Sheesh..
Nail biters are on a quest for order. If there is one tiny bit of skin they can get their teeth on, they will canibalize themselves and ruin their nails in the process. Why not visit your local nail salon for a series of manicures? The nail tech will clean up the cuticles and the nails, giving you less at which to bite.