It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Nail Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2004, 07:43 PM   #1

ButterflyGirl22 HB User
2 Questions: Vicks for nail fungus / Horizontal ridges

My first question is about using Vicks VapoRub for nail fungus. I saw a doctor awhile ago, not a podiatrist but my regular doctor, and asked what was wrong with my toenail. It looked like at some point I hit my toenail on something, but don't remember ever hurting it, and my nail was thicker and a little yellow in areas. I was told it was nail fungus, onychomycosis, and I was given a prescription for Lamisil. I haven't started taking it yet because I currently don't have health insurance. I had read on these boards about people trying Vicks for nail fungus, so I started using it twice a day. I've been doing this for two months and hardly notice a difference. How long should it take before I see a change? Will there be a definite change, like a nice, healthy nail growing in and the bad part eventually growing out? That doesn't appear to be happening. I know toenails grow very slowly. It would be nice if the Vicks does end up working so I won't have to bother taking the Lamisil. I was told blood tests would be needed and it has to be taken for three months. My toenail seems to not be as thick anymore, but seems MORE yellow. Any advice?

My other question is about horizontal ridges in my toenail, a different nail. I have two of them in the same nail and they are not dark lines, but it's like in those two areas my nail is raised up slightly and then goes back down. Does anyone know what this is?

Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-05-2004, 04:56 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Marti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB UserMarti HB User
Re: 2 Questions: Vicks for nail fungus / Horizontal ridges

Quote:
Originally Posted by ButterflyGirl22