It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Neuropathy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2008, 09:16 AM   #1
(female)

rlc41 HB User
A new aggravation

My first post, so please bear with me. I'm new to the joys of what seems like new feet and hands. I started having numbness in my feet and then my hands about a year ago but I figured ignoring it would solve the problem. Then the first of September I just collapsed walking down the hallway. Off to the emergency room and a five day stay. I think every trace mineral in my body was screwed up with potassium being the biggy. After getting a handle on that, the numbness stay along with pain. Gabapentin seems to do a fairly good job most of the time with pain control. I have seen quite a bit of improvement since then. My balance is pretty good most of the time. I have gained back some muscle and strength. I quit driving for a while when my foot slipped off the brake and couldn't find my foot but when I did hit the gas instead. I did find the brake before taking out the whole neighborhood. Then one day I realized I knew where my feet are all the time and started driving again. Which was good as I live alone. Not alone, two cats let me stay here but they aren't very good about going to the grocery store. For a long time I was always comprehensive about leaving the house. What if there was stairs with out a hand rail etc. I did get over that too. I think I have actually had some improvemnt. And of course I have learned how to adapt to my new hands and feet. Keep a pair of vice grips in the silverware drawer! I did finally get rid of the hammer and put it back in the tool box.