It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Neuropathy Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2009, 06:30 PM   #1
(female)

sr9479 HB User
pain in shoulder, upper back and numbness down arm

I have pain in my left shoulder, upper back and numbness down my left arm. I had a C5-C6 fusion with donor bone back in March of 2008. I did extremely well after surgery and had immediate relief of my nerve pain. On subsequent visit to the surgeon I had x-rays that showed the proper placement of the plate and donor bone. I am a fitness instructor and I teach 6 to 8 1 hour classes a week. I was able to go back to teaching my class low impact/low intensity 1 week after surgery. I did well and had no complications other than the obvious surgical pain. I'm trying to determine if this pain is a complication of the fusion or possibly an overuse injury. My trapezius muscle is in knots, there is also muscle tightness and pain over my shoulder blade. My shoulder is also involved with pain in my anterior deltoid that radiates down my arm. I have numbness that travels from my shoulder all the way down my arm into my hand. I have no trouble with my range of motion and there are not any movements that hurt worse than others. I just hurts at varying levels all of the time. Today the numbness and pain has been a problem all day. I'm getting more concerned because now the numbness isn't just at night. I seems like the problem may be progressing.

I would like to try and figure this out and see if I can fix it before running to the doctor and paying more medical bills.

Last edited by sr9479; 04-24-2009 at 07:27 PM. Reason: clarification

Old 08-04-2012, 05:43 AM   #2
(female)

BeccaLMT HB User
Re: pain in shoulder, upper back and numbness down arm