It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Neuropathy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2011, 08:54 AM   #1
(male)

ukcats1993 HB User
Help cant stand 2 work and doctors cant help the pain enough

I am a diabetic with neuropathy. I have worked as a construction worker for 33 yrs. Have to climb ladders, scaffolding, walking on concrete and steel grating, gravel etc. I'm a pipe fitter welder and have to pack 20 foot lengths of 4" steel pipe. which is very heavy. Typical construction work. My Neurologists has me taking 450 mg of lycria a day. It helps with the pain some but not enough. I'm in terrible pain when up on my feet at work. My doctor told me to quit this kind of work and find another job. Which is a joke. I have pensions and make good money, More than I can make doing anything else. Besides this is all I know! I served 4 yrs apprenticeship starting in 1978, to learn my trade. Its easy for him to say this. I talked to my MD he said he understands the pain I'm in. But didn't suggest disability. What do I have to do quit my job? Lose everything I got? I grit my teeth and make myself get through a 40 hr week. But don't know how much longer I can do it. The lyrica screws up my balance, I stagger around at work. I'm afraid I will fall and hurt myself. I don't know what to do or how much longer I can keep this up. I'm 54 yrs old and have never had such a battle. Has anyone here been the main bread winner of the family? It seems like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders an no help in sight.

The following user gives a hug of support to ukcats1993:
6122000 (08-14-2011)
Old 08-14-2011, 06:13 PM   #2
(male)

captinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB Usercaptinsane1 HB User
Re: Help cant stand 2 work and doctors cant help the pain enough