It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Neuropathy Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
(female)

Kelli372 HB User
New to neuropathy, and some questions

Hi all!

I'm new to having neuropathy...was diagnosed with it after spinal fusion surgery caused nerve damage in my left leg. I have intense burning and sensitivity in my toes, to the point that even my light bedsheets make them feel like someone is raking sandpaper over them. And now my leg muscles are just feeling extremely weak, and I'm constantly tripping.

My doc has me on what I think is a very low dose of neurontin, 300mg per day. It helped at first, when I first started taking it, but not much anymore. I have a call into him to see about increasing it.

Has anyone had any luck with anything topical for the toes burning? I've also noticed that compared to my good foot, the bad toes also look very dry and leathery, even though I moisturize them like my good foot, which looks fine. Does anyone else have that issue?

Thanks for reading! Glad to have found such a great support group here!
Kelli

The following user gives a hug of support to Kelli372:
June89 (09-14-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 09:12 AM   #2
Veteran
(male)

tingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB Usertingles HB User
Re: New to neuropathy, and some questions

Hello,

I have neuropathy and have stabbing pain sensations, burning, and muscle spasms. I cannot compare my feet since both have neuropathy but I have to be careful of my feet just like a diabetic. Inspecting them and caring for them.