It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obesity Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2008, 07:33 PM   #1
(female)

Kathy287 HB User
considering gastric bypass, need input

Hi, my name is Kathy. I am 40 years old and 5'6" and weigh 260 pounds. My BMI is 42 so I know that makes me a candidate for gastric bypass. I have tried dieting over and over without success. When I graduated from high school I was a very normal 140 pounds. I hurt my back when I was 20 and began gaining weight slowly due to not being able to be as active. I now have epilepsy, fibromyalgia, arthritis, and high blood pressure. I hate to look at myself in the mirror. Several of the medications that I take cause weight gain but they are necessary. My biggest problem with food is that I don't eat very healthy. Like today for instance...breakfast- skipped, lunch- grabbed a piece of italian bread and a few cubes of cheese on the go, dinner- tuna helper and peas. I find that I don't eat that much, so I get so angry sometimes with what I look like!!! I am very large chested and have always been, even when I was thin. I went to a surgeon and asked about a breast reduction a few months ago but he turned me down saying that I was too full under my arms and he doesn't operate on people with fibromyalgia because they don't heal as well and that I was too heavy. I wanted to have this done so I could actually have some weight off and be able to do some more exercise. I am just so afraid to go to the doctors about the gastric bypass and be shot down again. The other doctor really just humiliated me, he asked me if I couldn't afford better bras. I told him what I had was the largest ones that I could find and he kind of like snickered. He never even checked with my insurance if I had coverage. I would really appreciate if anyone could tell me about their experiences with gastric bypass. I really want to hear from