It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obesity Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2003, 06:49 AM   #1
(female)

onnason HB User
Post Swollen Ankles/Edema Due to Obesity?

Hi -- I'm new to this part of the board, but I think here is where I need to be. I'm 5'2, 205 lbs. Like all of you, I've been on every diet imaginable. I did well on Atkins a couple of years back, but when I tried to pick it up again, I failed miserably and gained more weight. Was put on Paxil for anxiety (an SSRI) and gained even MORE weight. I'm now off the Paxil, so I'm hoping this will start the weight loss again.

My question -- does anyone suffer from swollen ankles and calves due to their weight? I'm a huge hypochondriac, and my doctor said that the swelling is from my weight, but I'm thinking it's something horrible like congestive heart failure. I should note I'm on blood pressure medication as well as a diuretic. Both, according to the doctor, are only necessary because of my weight.

Anyone with a similar story? Any comfort/support would be so much appreciated!

P.S. Joining WW at work program next week -- I keep telling myself that this will be THE LAST TIME I'll ever weigh this much. Hard to convince myself of that when I've been here so darned long....

Best to everyone -- thanks for your responses.

Old 10-23-2003, 11:28 AM   #2

nikki2kids HB User
Amarra, welcome. I don't know about the swelling because the only time I had was when I was pregnant with my second child. The best thing you can do is get a second opinion from another doctor and ask for a blood work up.

Good luck on WW. I've been on WW for two weeks now and lost 6.8 pounds. It works and I have never felt hungry or deprived. Best of luck. Nikki

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-24-2003, 01:57 PM   #3
(female)

all things HB User