It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2004, 05:51 PM   #1

kklimek HB User
OCD Symmetry & Cleanliness

Hello, This is my first time posting. I have read almost all of the previous posts on this forum and I didn't find one that is the same as my OCD. I noticed from reading the posts that a lot of you suffer from several different types of OCD symptoms. I had a very traumatic childhood and I can remember my OCD starting when I was around 7. My OCD mainly consists of Symmetry. Every thing has to be lined up evenly and neatly in my house. Every one of my closets, cupboards, drawers, shoes in bottom of closet, furniture, knick knacks, books, pictures on walls, etc... has to be neat, clean, and symmetrical. The clothes in my closet are hanging up with all of the same style and color of hanger. I would NEVER have a mismatched hanger in my closet. I don't have a junk drawer. My junk drawer is very neat. There isn't one cluttered closet or drawer in my house. I hate clutter! I throw things out all of the time. I have files for all of my bills which are neat also. I promise that you couldn't find one messy, cluttered, unneat spot in my house. It horrible and it's driving me crazy. I'm 32 and this has been going on for a long time. I'm also very clean. I don't have any germ issues but I like my house very clean. I spend a lot of time keeping my house perfect. I'm a perfectionist. Everything I have or do needs to be perfect. I pay my bills early and I have a decent amount of money in the bank "just incase".I will not use credit cards. If I don't have the cash I don't buy it. Friends and family looking in from the outside look at me and say "you are so perfect with everything" when it's actually the OCD making me be this way. I have finally broke down and told friends and family about my disorder. They