It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2005, 07:40 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

GatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB User
OCD and driving?

Does anybody's OCD interfere with their driving? I'm almost 18, and I'm just learning how to drive. I've put it off because, subconsciously, I think I've just always been afraid. There's too much responsibility, and I'm terrified of killing someone. To make it even worse, my driving teacher keeps insisting that we always consider the "what-ifs": "What if your brakes fail?" "What if you pull out too far?" "What if that truck doesn't turn correctly?" As if I need to consider anymore "what-ifs"- this is what my OCD is telling me in the first place! Her personal motto is "It may not be probable, but it's always possible." This is the OCD-motto, and why I'm scared to death. The teacher and my parents are very understanding, but if anybody could give me any advice, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks again!
-GatsbyLuvr1920-

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-07-2005, 05:12 PM   #2
(female)

anemone HB User
Re: OCD and driving?

Yes! I know exactly how you feel.
I took driving lessons for about two years, on and off, but eventually had to give up completely because it was just putting me in a worse state.
I was constantlyasking "what-if" to the extent that I was concentrating more on that than the road (& therefore probably being more dangerous!)

I have managed recently to learn to travel as a passenger (fortunately I live in a city centre so I can walk most places...)

I'm only 20, and maybe one day I will be able to take lessons again.
Well done for continuing with them, but don't feel forced into it if it is too much at this time.
Good luck

Last edited by Administrator; 04-13-2011 at 09:54 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb