It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2006, 03:34 PM   #1
(female)

ashley2232 HB User
worry,worry, worry.........what a waste of life!!!!!!!

I know a lot of you may be thinking that I don't know what I'm talking about, but I would just like to share something with those of you who think that you have a mental or emotional disorder and who think you need to be put on medications for the rest of your life and see counselors or psychiatrists just to have a normal life. I'm not a doctor and I don't have any kind of degree in psychology, but I have suffered from "numerous disorders" that I was literally diagnosed with time and time again. Before I offer what was MY antidote for this life-altering complication, which for those of you who really suffer from compulsive thoughts and habitual routines and who feel like prisoners of your own mind, you will know what I mean when I say it is life-altering.
Since I was a little girl I've always been afraid of everything. I would get a thought of something in my head and I would dwell on it for hours or days and even months until I was convinced that whatever I was thinking about would not be harmful to me. My condition would drive those I loved crazy from my repetitive questions and trying to have other people convince me that I wasn't sick or whatever it was at the time I was worried about. At about 12 years old. my mother, who was also depressive for many years and was also put on medications thought that seeing a doctor and being put on medications for my "chemical imbalance" would cure me. Being 12 and having a very controlling mother, I was convinced. I went through years of being put on Gabitril, Buspar, Zoloft...just to name a few.