It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
(female)

4jco HB User
Fear of Parents' Death

I am a university student attending university about 4 hours away from my hometown. I am extremly close to my parents, closer than anyone I know.

Earlier in 08 an accident occured where 3 of my friends died, and I believe I have developed a case of OCD from it.

I constantly worry about my parents dying. They both are relativley healthy, however my dad is a smoker which worries me as both his father and uncle died of heart related issues when they were young.

I keep thinking of what life would be like if one of them died, and how I dont know how I would cope. No matter how hard I try to stop thoughts always rush through my mind. Sometimes I will just sit and cry thinking about it all night. This does not only happen when im away from them, sometimes when I am with one of my parents I just think of what happens if this is the last time I see them, or how much I would miss this when they are gone.

I worry all the time, and I just wish I could appreciate the time I have with them instead of constantly thinking about the inevidible.

Has anyone else experienced this or know tricks to deal with it?

Old 01-04-2009, 08:22 PM   #2
(male)

cuts84 HB User
Re: Fear of Parents' Death