It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2003, 11:27 AM   #1

lindsayl HB User
Post Did I lock the door?

Holy smokes, how many times do I have to check the door before I go to sleep??? I check the door, lie down, read... then get up, check the door again, where are the keys? Check the door again... Can anyone relate?

Old 02-11-2003, 02:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran

openseason HB User
There was a woman on another board, her husband was an OCD checker. He opened and closed the automatic garage door so many times that it broke. Then she couldnt even get into her own house. Checking the stove and doors is very common.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-22-2003, 06:09 AM   #3

bs842 HB User
I have been checking locks now for about 3-4 years...i drives me nuts because i know that the doors are locked but i just stare at them and keep turning the knob to make sure its locked. My wife thinks i am crazy and it is very embarrassing. I have a system (I dont feel comfortable saying this but...)every night before i go to bed. First i check the lights downstairs a few times make sure the switch is all the turned off then make sure both sets of car keys are on the hook on the wall, then make sure the locks on the door are secure. The downstairs is "1". Next up to the kitchen, but first need to look down the steps to make sure all lights are off. Now the kitchen door, same procedure, make sure i can see the 2 locks and that they are really in the locked position. This door is "2". Now over to the stove, look at each knob over and over this is "3" and the window over the stove is "4". Make sure all lights in kitchen are off and that nothing is plugged in to the sockets! Off to the living room and make sure again that the door is locked..the living room door is "5". First of all this whole procedure takes somewhere bet