It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2011, 09:34 PM   #1
(female)

lifeisnice HB User
can't shake this

i'm a freshman in college and made out with another guy (who i wasn't attracted to) two weeks into dating my boyfriend. it was a stupid mistake after a night of drinking and probably the worst thing i've ever done and completely against my morals. i've never done anything like that before and i never will again. at the time i felt really insecure about our relationship and that i cared more for him than he did for me. the make out was i think, in a way, my screwed up way of proving to myself i didn't need him, and that i would be ok without him if he left. i was tired of feeling defined by my (at the time unrequited) love for him...well, we're much closer now and have a deep, mutual love. i recently told him about my indiscretion and he forgave me and said he understands.

the problem is i can't forgive myself and move on...it's almost like telling him made me feel worse. it brought up the old feelings of shame and guilt. i feel like i'm stuck and can't love him the way he deserves because of this crippling guilt. he asked to not hear details because they hurt so i didn't tell him them....but do you think i'd feel better if i did? he also asked me to forget about it and let it go because he has, but i can't. i still feel this overwhelming remorse and disgust at myself and like i'm too 'broken' (sorry to be a cliche!) by this to offer him good, strong love. should i tell him more details? should we take a break until i get over this? i have this crazy compulsion to confess. i was over it but now it's back with a vengeance. what should i do? and feel free to lecture me about what an awful person i am, but it's nothing i haven't already told myself. and thank you for the help.