It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2012, 06:35 PM   #1
(male)

YellowSubmarine HB User
Exclamation OCD, Phobias & Second-Guessing Reality?

My apologies in advance if this post is kind of rambling... basically I'm wondering if anybody has experienced anything similar to what I'm dealing with.

I've struggled with generalized anxiety disorder and depression off and on since I was 12 (I'm now 25). I also had issues with hypochondria and OCD (minus the compulsion part) and was terrified of germs and diseases. I did a lot of second-guessing myself during my teenage years, self-medicated to the point where I was the life of the party for all the wrong reasons, and finally got help. I had been doing much better for many years and while depression would come back every once in a while, the obsessions and hypochondria were mostly gone. A few weeks ago, however, I got very ill while on a trip outside the country. I had wicked bad diarrhea for a few weeks, which didn't scare me too much, but that was followed by crippling headaches and neurological problems... and that started to set off a whole chain reaction of worrying about my health. It got to the point where I was absolutely convinced I had a terrible illness that was going to kill me very soon in the worst possible way. I started having panic attacks on top of the headaches I was already having and basically completely losing it, sobbing alone in my hotel room. I cut my trip short and came back home to get tested and find out what, if anything was wrong with me. So far the doctors haven't found anything, and my infectious disease doctor doesn't seem too concerned, so I'm hoping that it was just a bad stomach bug or water-borne parasite, and all the headaches and other issues were just after-effects of weight and nutrient loss. I've definite