It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013, 05:10 AM   #1
(female)

Fizzeh HB User
ROCD or no?

Hi everyone... this is my first time posting about this.

I am almost 19 years old, and I have been diagnosed with GAD. I've had on and off bouts of depression and I currently attend University.

I have had major problems with my mum... to the extent that I moved out of her house to live with my Dad. I am very happy with my Dad, but having to move to Uni away from him and his partner was horrible, and I cannot seem to bring myself to be enthusiastic about my course or anything related.

I have not been diagnosed with OCD... yet. I am not on any kind of medication. I've been getting counselling with limited success from September last year, and I am due to start CBT on the 24th of January.

Here's the problem that's been bugging me for a while. I get intrusive thoughts - or what I THINK are intrusive thoughts. Some of them are sexually deviant ones that make me doubt my morality, some are ones that make me believe that if I DO something (such as have a glass of cheap wine) I will BECOME something bad. An alcoholic/alcohol dependant for example.

My real problem comes with my boyfriend. We have been together for 5 years on the day that I turn 19. He is wonderful. He is sweet, caring, kind, perfect. Supportive of my anxieties, always there to help. I came back for one weekend to home - the weekend he was going to a uni 2 hours away from mine. (I've lived my whole life never further away from him than about 10 minutes.) I had a panic attack for the first time upstairs in my room, because I suddenly felt as if I did not love him anymore.