It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Occupational Health & Safety Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2013, 05:05 AM   #1
(male)

pete c HB User
Over the top OSHA rules

I see the threads here primarily address potentially dangerous situations. My issue is the opposite. It concerns braindead, over the top requirements regarding electrical safety. In particular, I am talking about OSHA's obsession with arc flash boundaries and working on energized equipment.

I have been an electronics tech for nearly 30 years. First, in the military, later in civilian life. During this period, there have been sensible regulations in place. It was understood that as an electronics tech, you would need to work around energized equipment and that you would need to use a bit of common sense. Working around normal voltages of 220 or less was quite common and very safe using simple rules such as, don't touch that, it's energized and will bite you. There were more stringent rules regarding working around higher voltages and more importantly, higher potential currents, where extra PPE was required. I was a Radar tech and worked around such things and using this additional PPE was definitely a good idea as not using it would likely get you killed.