It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2001, 11:54 AM   #1

Harold2 HB User
Cool Nasal Spray Addiction

I have been using Vicks Sinex 12 hour nasal spray for about 8-9 years now. I have tried almost everything to try and get off the stuff. I snort the Sinex about 2-3 times an hour. At night I snort approx. 8-10 squirts in each nostril. Is there anything that I can do to get off the stuff? It's an expensive addiction that I need to quit. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Harold2

------------------
Thanks, Harold2

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-19-2001, 12:34 PM   #2

wearesiamese HB User
I've been through this many many times with Duration nose spray. The only thing you can do is resign yourself to the fact that you will have to "mouth breath" for a couple of days. Then after that, you should be able to breath through your nose. I've used Duration for about 12 years off and on. This is how it goes every time. Just pretend you have a cold. In fact, taking a cold medicine may help you breath while you are going off spray.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-19-2001, 01:54 PM   #3

siouxzee HB User
This is a hard habit to kick. If you are serious about this, seeing an ENT (ear nose throat doctor) is advised. Going cold turkey off of your over-the-counter decongestant spray will get you "unhooked" from the medication after about four to five days. This period will be much easier for you if they get help from your healthcare provider in the form of one of the prescription steroid sprays that can be started about three days before stopping the over-the-counter spray. Sometimes, a brief round (about 6 days) of oral steroids can also be useful.

Quitting yourself is possible also. Some tips are:

1)Quit one nostril at a time.