It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2005, 12:44 AM   #1
(male)

avron HB User
Help! eyebrows falling out!

Hiya everyone,

I've had this problem a long time ago where I noticed a bald spot on my eyebrows, I went to the doctor and he gave me synalar gel which contains fluocinolone, it did make the hair grow back. now this was four years ago.

this time the problem came back and it's so much worse this time, I had to use pencil to cover up the thin haired areas, I used the same gel again without seeing a doctor, it did help in growing most of the hair, but I am worried that the problem would get worse once I get off the gel, I was supposed to use it for 2 weeks, instead i've been using it for 2 months now.

I've looked over the internet the only thing I could find for eyebrows thinning out is thyroid problems and I don't recall having any other symptoms other than the eyebrow thinning out.

Old 04-08-2005, 09:24 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kitkat77 HB User
Re: Help! eyebrows falling out!

Both my sister and I have the same problems with our eyebrows, we both have hypothyroidism, and no doctor has ever offered us the synalar gel (or anything for that matter) to repair them. I never thought there was such a thing available to regrow hair (after all, if it was a miracle gel then there'd be no bald people, right?) so I went to check what synalar gel was.

I read that it is used to treat inflammatory skin disorders, not hair loss. If it is working for you, then it sounds as if you have a skin disorder and not something systemic. As well, your doctor must have suspected a skin disorder in the first place or he wouldn't have given it to you. All of this should be written in your chart, so why not just ask him?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-08-2005, 09:48 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)