It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2008, 02:53 PM   #1
(female)

bootscoot HB User
Canker Sores Inside Mouth

Hello, I am new to the Healthboards. I wasn't sure where to post this. Does anyone know of a remedy for canker sores. I get them all the time. They get big inside of my mouth and are soooooo painful. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-30-2008, 09:48 PM   #2
(female)

sunshine21 HB User
Re: Canker Sores Inside Mouth

Hi there,

Ok so I can safely say I completely understand your pain. I've had bad canker sores outbreaks in my mouth (sometimes more than 20 at a time!) since I was about 8. Most of what I've been told over the years is that stress seems to be a big cause of outbreaks, and once you've had one....you're more likely to develop them more frequently=(. An RN randomly told me a few years ago that she had a similar problem, and nearly cured it for herself by switching to natural toothpaste. I tried it....magic! I've had a few since then, but it's been years, and they've usually been when I used Crest for a day or two. Not sure if it'll work for you, but I'd say it's definitely worth a try. I use Tom's natural toothpaste, should be at most grocery and drug stores. Good luck!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-01-2008, 10:42 AM   #3
Inactive
(female)

lcweiden3132 HB User

I used to get those all the time. I discovered that for me it was a type of food allergy issue. I removed whole wheat, dairy, nuts, and chocolate from my diet and I don't get them anymore. I haven't gotten them for more than 10 years now since removing those things from my diet. Try it.

Also, you can take a supplement called L-lysine and that should help too. L-lysine is good for cold sores that occur on the outside of your mouth as well.

Old 05-01-2008, 11:53 AM   #4
Senior Veteran