It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2010, 02:55 PM   #1
(female)

looper09 HB User
Mom's Hallucinating Help

I am very new to this situation. Only child, mother is 72 and hallucinating!
Doctors say in early AD. Mom is fine when someone is around, but otherwise people are in the house, staring, stealing, and just plain scaring! Do not know what to do or where to go or what options ma be available. I am just looking for a starting point. Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Old 12-20-2010, 03:15 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

sjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB User
Re: Mom's Hallucinating Help

Hi I can't tell you how many times someone is simply misdiagnosed. Were electrolytes checked has an MRI been done? Are there any medicines?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-20-2010, 03:47 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Mel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB UserMel52 HB User

have her checked for a bladder infection. I had never heard of this until my girlfriend told me her mom was seeing little green men and it was a bladder infection. So, I asked a nurse friend if that can happen and she said absolutely, very common in the elderly. When my mom had stroke symptoms and was very confused, at the hospital I had them check for a UTI. She had one.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mel52 For This Useful Post:
looper09 (12-22-2010), sjb (12-20-2010)
Old 12-21-2010, 05:08 AM   #4
Facilitator
(female)

sjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB Usersjb HB User