It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2006, 09:38 AM   #1
(female)

littlegirl53 HB User
bone loss in jaw

I have experienced bone loss in my jaw - possibly from taking foxamax - Is there anything I can do/take to build bone in my jaw? I have dental implants that are in jeopardy. I am taking calcium+D and am on bio-identical hormones. Thanks!

The following user gives a hug of support to littlegirl53:
Relevant (05-30-2011)
Old 10-19-2006, 08:18 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

montesflus HB Usermontesflus HB User
Re: bone loss in jaw

Hi LittleGirl53 :

As far as I know (and I'm no expert and don't work in the medical field), once the bone-loss in the jaw begins, there is no ACTUAL cure. As you mention, it could very well be from the Fosomax. Have you spoken to the doctor who originally prescribed your Fosomax? Regarding your perilious dental work, you should probably discuss treatment with your oral surgeon (or dentist). How long had you been on the Fosomax before you had the jaw bone-loss? Before you started taking this med had you read up on the various side-effects associated with it? (and I don't mean the insert you get with the bottle, that doesn't tell you the half of it)!!

Keep us posted and let us know what happens, and best of luck, whatever the outcome,

Irene

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-20-2006, 05:33 AM   #3
(female)

littlegirl53 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by montesflus
Hi LittleGirl53 :