It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2007, 07:39 AM   #1
(female)

Canna HB User
Milk and bone loss

Hey this is for all you old posters who have done research and have more knowledge than me.. I am researching I am new at it.. am learning.. but it is time consuming. Since I was told I have osteoporosis I have been drinking fat free milk in the morning but I have read in some articles that if you are on calcium pills you don't drink milk.. so I am confused as I thought that i would be consuming more calcium that way .... can anyone help me out????

Last edited by Canna; 11-10-2007 at 07:41 AM.

Old 11-10-2007, 08:26 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

osteoblast HB User
Re: Milk and bone loss

What you need to do is look at you total calcium intake- that is from both supplements and what you consume in your food and drink. You can find information regarding calcium by doing a little research . Then you can decide how you want to get your calcium needs met. Some people want calcium needs met through what they eat and drink only- and don't want to take supplements. Others get their calcium by a combination of what they eat, drink and take in supplements.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-10-2007, 03:48 PM   #3
Inactive
(female)

derkin HB User

calcium isn't doing you much good if you do not take magnesium and vitamin D with it to help absorb and distribute it.

Old 11-11-2007, 05:10 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

jacal5 HB Userjacal5 HB User

Studies shows that people who get calcium from half supplements and half food have better bone density. My friend's doc told her that calcium from milk doesn't get absorbed, and a nutritionist told me milk leaches calcium from the bones and yogurt is a better choice because it's fermented.

Last edited by jacal5; 11-11-2007 at 05:12 AM.

Old 11-11-2007, 05:39 PM   #5
Senior Veteran