It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2010, 07:45 PM   #1
(female)

livelaughlove3 HB User
Just diagnosed with Osteoporis

I am new to this message board and to message boards in general. I was diagnosed with osteoporosis within the last week after getting a dexascan. My PCP prescribed 50,000 units of vitamin D3 to be taken once a week for 2 months. He also prescripbed Boniva. I am quite frightened at the prospect of taking this med after reading about all of the side effects of the meds for this disease.

Since I knew nothing about Boniva and not much about osteoporosis, I went online to see what I could find out. I decided to join this message board since there seem to be a lot of people with experience regarding osteoporosis and the meds that are prescribed. Although there seems to be a lot of negative information about Fosamax, there wasn't a lot about Boniva.

Can anyone out there share their experience with Boniva? I'm especially interested in knowing about side effects and the effectiveness of the drug on improving the BMD. I know that a calcium rich diet and weight bearing exercise are also supposed to improve the BMD. Has anyone out there seen any improvement in their osteoporosis without taking any of the prescription meds?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Old 10-10-2010, 05:29 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: Just diagnosed with Osteoporis

Was this your first scan? What was your score? If you weren't told, call and find out. Also, ask if their machines have been recalibrated according to WHO (World Health Organization) standards. If they haven't, your score may not be accurate.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-12-2010, 02:27 AM   #3
(female)