It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2011, 11:21 AM   #1
(female)

Moggs HB User
Angry malabsorption - cause missed for 25 years

Basically I'm angry. I was diagnosed with osteoporosis when I was 35. Shortly after that it was determined that I had mal-absorption, but they didn't know why. At the ripe old age of 60 I just got diagnosed! I have Crohn's! (It was done with a blood test for antibodies for Crohn's that is patented and done by only one lab, Prometheus. )
I've have nausea and diarrhea and abdominal pain off and on all my life. Anorexic as a teen, I was not afraid of getting fat, food made me sick. In my 20s I was told there was nothing wrong with me, it was in my head. In my 30s the line was it was irritable bowel syndrome, but they didnít really know what it was or what to do about it, but since I was a teacher it was probably caused by stress. In my 30s the arthritis started getting bad so I started on NASIDs. When drugs came out for osteoporosis I also took those, the combination of both these drugs ate my stomach and I wound up with stomach surgery 2 years ago at age 58. All the time my weight went up and down as the nausea, diarrhea and occasional vomiting came and went.

Iím sure I have a mild case of Crohnís, otherwise an obstruction would have put me in the hospital and, hopefully, it would have been identified a long time ago. As of 3 weeks ago, when I got my diagnosis, I'm on an anti-inflammatory drug that has gotten rid of most of the nausea and has cut down on the diarrhea. Iím learning more about diet than I had by just trial and error over the years. I canít believe that a disease that has affected my whole life is just now being treated.
When my doctor told me I had Crohn's he told me that at least I knew it wasn't in my head; I told him that I never thought it was.