It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 01:03 PM   #1
(female)

bearcubs HB Userbearcubs HB Userbearcubs HB Userbearcubs HB User
Smile Alternative to Bisphosphonates

Can someone tell me what type of over the counter medicine they have tried to build bone mass for someone who has osteoporosis. I don't want to use the bisphosphonates because there are so many side effects and problems with them. Please any ideas would be wonderful.

Bearcubs

Old 11-17-2012, 11:13 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

phylwill1152 HB Userphylwill1152 HB Userphylwill1152 HB Userphylwill1152 HB Userphylwill1152 HB Userphylwill1152 HB User
Re: Alternative to Bisphosphonates

HI bearcubs, I've been using OTC Strontium Citrate for many years and with each DEXA i have seen improvements. There have been quite a few discussions about strontium on this board, you can look them up using the search box on the top left of the page. If you have questions just ask, we'll do our best to help you out. take care, phyllis

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-21-2013, 08:44 AM   #3
(female)

crkrie HB User

hi, this is a 2nd post for me. I'm curious how quickly your bone scans have improved and if they were as bad as mine. (i'm still hoping there might be an alternative to going on Prolia or Risedronate). I have been having DXA scans since 2006 when i was diagnosed with going over the line from osteopenia to osteoporosis and tried several natural ways of building bone. in 2011 my spine T-score was -3.7 and i still refused meds out of fear of side effects (i don't even do asprin). Fell from a horse last year and L2 exploded into my spinal column. Now i'm fused L1-L3 and dealing with back pain and ready to try the most effective/least side effect medication. (I had chromophobe kidney cancer in 2011 and after that developed silent GERD if that is relevant at all).