It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2004, 07:06 AM   #1
(female)

shan_y HB User
Question Elavil for chronic pain management

I am a mass producer of kidney stones and based on what the doctors said Monday, I will have to deal with this for the rest of my life. What I mean by mass producer, is I have numerous large stones every 3-4 months. My doctor prescribed me Elavil on Monday to see if it works. I was just curious if anyone else has tried this for pain mangement . I don't like the fact that it also has anti-depressant attached to it, but I am tired of being in pain also. If anybody can give me some insight, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks and take care,

Shannon

Old 03-31-2004, 07:53 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Kissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB User
Re: Elavil for chronic pain management

Elavil was originally designed for depression quite some years ago, in the last 10 or so years ago doctors began prescribing it for those with FMS and pain to help people sleep better because sleep obviously is important to someone in pain.
It has never worked for me or anyone I now who has taken it for pain, not to say it won't help you it may, everyone is different. I tended to make me extremely groggy even at 25mg. I slept well, and kept sleeping for hours on end so ultimately my medications were changed to something more appropriate.
Back when I was first prescribed elavil not realizing it was an antidepressant I kinda freaked out and called the doctor and he told me that it was more for sleep than anything. I still take an antidepressant to help sleep and not for pain but not elavil. Studies have shown that deep REM sleep help with ongoing pain so I have since accepted the fact this is just one method used in pain management.