It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2005, 08:03 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

momofsix HB User
Methadone and Depression

Do Methadone and depression go hand in hand? I've had a visit with a psychiatrist who insists that it's IMPOSSIBLE to have chronic pain for several years and not become clinically depressed aka needing depression medication. She says I will never have any success with pain management (right now I'm trying methadone) if I don't treat the depression at the same time. My strong feelings are that I don't want to be mixing two medications, at least not right now when I'm just beginning with the methadone, because I won't be able to tell what medication is doing what. I've had so many bad experiences with multiple side effects, that I just can't handle any more. The pain is enough to deal with right now. However, am I jeopardizing my chances of success with Methadone by not taking antidepressant meds? Anybody have success taking Methadone and an antidepressant i.e. not totally zombied out or nauseated?

Linda

Old 07-07-2005, 08:18 AM   #2
Veteran
(male)

scotty12 HB User
Re: Methadone and Depression

Linda,
I kinda agree that if you live with pain daily that is a given that it will have a negative impact on our emotions.with that said i think most cp patients do battle with depression weather they realize it or not.

im not advocating using SSRI's but rather meds like the TCA Anti'Ds
i have read that ssris will not help cp patients on opiates but tca's like elavil will help w/depression and pain.
i never took methadone so i cant offer anything as far as that goes.
scott

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-08-2005, 07:35 AM   #3
Inactive
(male)

Tyneyboy HB User