It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2005, 02:23 AM   #1
(male)

davetheplantman HB User
Topamax for back pain

I am hoping to obtain some information from those who take Topamax for back pain and their experience along with dosing. I am new to Pain Management as of 2 weeks ago after my GP was concerned my nerve pain was out of control and not responding real well to moderate opoids.

I was prescribed Topamax starting at 25mg, 25 mg per week until we get to a level that works for some pain relief, if any. I am now at 50, getting ready to go to 75 with no relief. I am, however, experiencing some side effects.

Questions:

For those who have experience relief with this drug, at what dosage did you achieve your result?

I am experiencing tiredness, memory loss, a hard time finding words, a general feeling of being a bit stupid ( I got out of the shower with conditioner in my hair this morning), tingling in my feet and arms, loss of appetite, and I cannot stand soda anymore as it tastes reallly strange.

I am sure there are more side effects, I just can't remember them

Also, It is really hard to find any information on the web related to this drug and back pain, it is mostly related to migraines, epilepsy, seizures, bi polar, etc. I was amazed how empty the net was for this.

Any thoughts on this drug are appreciated.

Dave in Seattle

Last edited by davetheplantman; 11-12-2005 at 02:28 AM.

Old 11-12-2005, 07:08 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Shoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB User
Re: Topamax for back pain