It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2006, 06:40 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

hangin HB User
strength of oxy

Hi,

First, I want to thank everyone for all of the information that I have gotten from this board. I could look and look on the internet and not be able to come up with the knowledge that some of you possess here.

My question is this: I have read many times that oxycontin is 10 times stronger than lortab (I believe that is right).

If you are taking 80 mg of oxycontin, how many lortabs approximately does that equal? It is something that I have wondered for a long time. I am not good at breaking down mathematically things of this nature. So if someone, in lay mans terms could explain it, I would appreciate it.

Thank you for your time and all of the research that you all put into these questions. You guys are awesome.

Take care,

Peace and love, Hangin

Old 03-28-2006, 12:08 AM   #2
Inactive

wolfmarket HB User
Re: strength of oxy

This is how rumors start that mess up pain control.

Lortab is hydrocodone. OxyContin is time released oxycodone.

Oxycodone is approximatley 1.5 times stronger than hydrocodone, mg for mg.

If you have an 80 mg OxyContin, that is roughly like taking 2 40mg Oxycodone pills back to back. The first 40 mg releases in about 1 hour and about 6 hours later, the second 40 mg is released.

So, a 80 mg OxyContin will give you about 40 mg of oxycodone at a time.

That is equivalent to 60 mg of hydrocodone.

60 divided by the 7.5 hydro in Lortab gives you 8

So at any given time, an 80 mg OxyContin gives you about 8 times the strength of a 7.5 Lortab.

Alan

Deleted...
There is nothing wrong with stating one's beliefs.

Last edited by Administrator; 03-28-2006 at 12:38 PM. Reason: State your own opinion without denigrating others.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2006, 09:47 AM   #3