It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2006, 12:38 PM   #1
(female)

agurl79 HB User
Lightbulb Extended release Ultram?

Hi. This is my first time posting on this board. I am 26 y/o female. I have chronic pancreatitis, just diagnosed in May of this year. I've been battling pancreatic problems since June of 2004 though. I've had severe pain since that time. I developed severe acute pancreatitis when i was 34 weeks pregnant, and to make a long story short, every organ in my body failed and I was given a 5% chance of making it, but miraculously I did. Now 7 major abdominal surgeries later, I still get intense pain. For the last year, I have been treated with Dilaudid 4mg as needed, and that works great for me. My PCP was prescribing it. Now he decided that i needed to go to a pain management doc. I had my first appt yesterday. He told me to stop taking dilaudid, and he gave me a new drug, he said it just came out. It is Ultram 200mg, it's an extended release and you take it once a day. Has anyone had any experience with this? They have had me on the regular Ultram before, but it didn't do a thing for me.. I don't get why he wants to change my meds around, when they were working just fine for me... I am a nurse so, i know he is concerned about me taking dilaudid... thinking the hospital may have a problem with me returning to work being on a strong narc like that, but if I am in pain, I won't be able to return to work anyways! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks in advance!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-15-2006, 03:14 PM   #2
(female)

Sammiejoe HB User
Re: Extended release Ultram?

Hi & Welcome